The Team

Professor Bob Cryan CBE DL CCMI FREng – Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive

Professor Tim Thornton – Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Andrew Ball – Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise)

Professor Alistair Sambell – Pro Vice-Chancellor (International)

Professor Jane Owen-Lynch – Pro Vice-Chancellor (Teaching & Learning)

Alison Jones – University Secretary

Claire White – Executive Office Manager

Rachel Main – University Solicitor

Contact Details

Vice-Chancellor’s Office
Schwann Building
University of Huddersfield


Office of the University Secretary

The Office of the University Secretary operates within the Vice-Chancellor’s Office

University Council

The University Council is the principal decision-making body in the University

Policies and procedures

The University has a wide range of policy and procedural documents


The University is governed through the University Council and the Senate with support from various committees

Our strategy map

The University strategy map 2018 - 2025 

Honorary Awards Committee (HAC)

Responsible for making recommendations for honorary awards to University Senate and University Council